Upgrade Active Directory 2008 2 to 2016 - error LDAP

• Last Post 25 July 2019
Alix posted this 24 July 2019

Hi Everyone,I am not an expert and I just don't completely understand the problem we have during the upgrade from 2008 R2 to 2016.The situation is :Only one Domain, 3 DCSysvol replicating with DFSRadprep without any problem3 new DC 2016, installing SSL certificate from a third party : no problemRemoving 2 old DC 2008 R2
So, for now, 3 DC 2016 and 1 DC 2008 R2The FSMO and the time server were transferred to a DC 2016
Active Directory seems all right : replication, dcdiag (few error systemlog), w32tm : okIf the 2008 R2 DC is off : new user, new computer can be added to the domain.
But some errors :- At first, on the new DC 2016ldp.exe - ssl connection : is asking for a smart card authentication. I just use the cancel button and it is ok, I can connect.
- If the DC 2008 R2 is off, one colleague cannot connect to Active Directory from a "some linux application"ldapstarttls(): Unable to start TLS: Can't contact LDAP server "I have checked the account configuration of the domain users (dsa.msc) : it is not using smart card.
-If the DC 2008 R2 is off, some applications cannot use Active Directory authentification (third party Ricoh printing solution)I have no idea where to begin my search : any suggestion ?
Thanks 
Alix

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
barkills posted this 24 July 2019

You’ve got a couple different symptoms that could be 1 problem or more than 1 problem. It’s a bit dangerous to assume it is one problem, but let’s assume that’s true for now.

It sounds like a cipher suite issue to me, but it could be something else (if it is more than 1 problem).

Here’s the cipher suite issue we had when we upgrade to WS2016 DCs: